www.DRRiders.com

A Dedicated Suzuki DR650 forum for DR650 riders to share their knowledge, experience and adventures!
It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 1:12 pm

DRRIDERS.COM Search - powered by Google

DRRIDERS Member Location Map

Place yourself on the map here!

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 4:10 am 
MSF Student
MSF Student

Hello all... I have a few questions that have vexed me in all of my tank research, and would be grateful for any help figuring it out. Sorry if they seem kinda bone head, but I'm still learning, haha. Funny enough, I found a ton of info on the tanks, but none answered these basic questions. So here goes...

1) when putting on a new tank, I see there are various petcock setups (acerbis, IBS). Why is this?

2) Why wouldn't the tank makers just make a tank that goes in place of the original, and requires no modification? Just put new bigger tank on, connect the hoses that are already there, done. Why the need to change the petcock and add a breather tube?

3) Am I correct in understanding that once you have a new tank and petcock setup, your petcock will basically act the same way that the petcock on old Hondas used? The three position, on, reserve, off, setup?
So the bike now will need the fuel cock to be turned off at night and garage time like an old bike? I had a '75 CB360T for example. General rule that worked for me was if it'll sit for more than half the day, I'd kill the gas on the petcock. So if I upgrade the tank on my DR, I'll be back to this way of doing things?

4) Why do we now need a breather tube?

5) Why are most breather tubes so long? I know there are short ones as well, but I assume they were made long for a reason? What is the tradeoff of using a short tube?

6) With acerbis, what changes are required?
7) IMS is the same?

Thanks in advance for your help!

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 7:32 am 
Adventure Rider
Adventure Rider

650Blackout wrote: