www.DRRiders.com

A Dedicated Suzuki DR650 forum for DR650 riders to share their knowledge, experience and adventures!
It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 12:18 pm

DRRIDERS.COM Search - powered by Google

DRRIDERS Member Location Map

Place yourself on the map here!

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 11:19 pm 
Trail Rider
Trail Rider

for those that keep a set of knobbies as well as motard rims- is it worth it?
I've never ridden a motard & it's not something you can try before buying either.
I'm lusting after a 3rd bike but can't pull the trigger until late next year - and with a third bike comes extra expenses: rego, mods, more mods etc.
I like wrenching so swapping wheels over to suit riding wouldn't bother me - it's just a considerable drop of coin (rims, tyres, maybe a trailtech, extra sprocket etc) and I have no experience with it.
Are motard wheels a "f---ing love it" buy or a "yeah good to have"?

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 11:21 am 
MSF Student
MSF Student

If you're riding primarily street, then yes, very much worth it.
One caveat though; be careful of the final pitch of the chassis. With the axle mounted ahead of the forks, you can very quickly get into an area of too little trail.
I lowered both the front and rear of the bike, but the front end has a tendency to oversteer at speed and sometimes tuck in low speed corners. Whenever I feel like it, I'm going to restore the front end to its stock height.
But yes, again, a set of supermoto wheels and tires make this bike a fantastic street bike.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 11:39 am 
Adventure Rider
Adventure Rider