www.DRRiders.com

A Dedicated Suzuki DR650 forum for DR650 riders to share their knowledge, experience and adventures!
It is currently Tue Oct 24, 2017 7:26 am

DRRIDERS.COM Search - powered by Google

DRRIDERS Member Location Map

Place yourself on the map here!

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2016 12:45 am 

How's everybody doing? I'm new here on the forum, and I'm new to the motorcycle world, but I grew up riding old three wheelers which were always a blast. They teach you respect for the machine. Anyways, I picked up my first DR in December and while I'm away at college, I'm looking to start ordering parts so when I go home for a few weeks in the summer I can piece everything together and have myself a supermoto!

My bike is an 07 DR650 but the previous owner put some money into it to try and get it to hang with his friends KTM 690 offroad. He eventually realize that was out of the question, and I was able to pick up the bike for a killer deal. Moreover, its got ~7,000 miles on it but he had it professionally bored out so its a DR790 now with about 800 miles on the upgrade. Its got a TM40 pumper carb, two brothers exhaust, a new clutch, a new cam, and a 520 chain conversion amongst other things. The guy was a HUGE fan of procycle.

Anyways, my plan is to convert the bike to a full supermoto DR and I'd like suggestions. I'm thinking of getting custom warp9 rims, but I'm not sure about the tires yet. I'm thinking about upgrading the front brake too while I'm at it for the added safety. Any advisement? The gearing is currently a 14 tooth upfront and stock in the back. I think I may switch to a 15 or 16 tooth, I'm not sure which or if I should also change the rear. What are your thoughts? I want to do this bike right!

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2016 3:58 am 
Trail Rider
Trail Rider